Top Products From The Makeup Show in Chicago


Embryolisse cream – This gorgeous product sinks into your skin beautifully, bringing adequate moisture and makes an excellent pre-foundation product for the dry skin and combination skin types. I also ended up getting an oil-free matte version of it for Singapore clients with oily skin. It is a favorite product amongst the most experienced makeup artists, I had to get it and of course I tried both products on myself, good results.

Temptu Pro Neutralizer Wheel – When I attended Cory Bishop’s Color Theory class, I had an A-HA moment. Instead of just using layers of concealer to address redness/ purple/ darkness under eyes, a product like the Temptu Color Wheel corrector made sense, another must have in my kit.

OCC concealers – I am a HUGE fan of the liptars so when James Vincent suggested all makeup artists should have a try at the new OCC SKIN concealers at the blogger event on Sat, he was right! What an amazing product. Lucky for me I swatched and tried all the shades in the company of David Klasfeld, creator and owner of OCC. Formulated from the finest vegan ingredients available, these concealers also nourish and hydrate the skin with Cocoa Extract, Aloe Leaf Extract and Vitamin E. Of course, I pre-ordered a bunch of these puppies and can’t wait to use them on my clients.

Skindinavia Bridal Makeup Spray – After being a huge fan of their makeup setting sprays formulas for dry and oily skins, I picked up a bottle of this fabulous spray at the Alcone booth and am already a fan! Thank you Skindinavia for this wonderful product (and token of appreciation). Btw, Skindinavia ships worldwide. I use this over my eyeliner for zero smudge effect.

Smashbox Halo Yellow Correction Hydrating Powder – I’d been looking for a brightener/ color corrector/ skin balancer in yellow for a while now and this was a suggestion at the Smashbox pro counter at the show (Smashbox were super nice and extended their pro discount to me on the spot!). This is a product which will get used lots. I wish there was a cream version of it but for now a powder will do, little goes a long way with color correctors!

Leave a Reply

