What is BB Cream?

Last week while in Hong Kong, I noticed tons of ads for BB creams, all over the place.  I had no idea what a BB cream was?!!  According to my findings on the net, BB stands for Blemish Balm or Blemish Base, a skincare item sold/ marketed mainly in East and Southeast Asia. [I have been living in Singapore for the past four years].

There are countless brands in the market, even Illamasqua’s Skin Base Foundation is on the ball with this trend – as makeup artist and director of product developer David Horne explains “[Skin Base] is suitable for all skin types, it smoothes, softens and conditions your skin whilst providing natural, buildable coverage”.  Of course this is in reference to Illamasqua’s specific product [hoping to get my hands on Skin Base soon].

BB creams tackle different needs, some have soothing properties, others brightening and or whitening (a foreign concept for many of us Westerns who love bronzed/ sunkissed skin, most have SPF.  The common denominator is you can still use your foundation/ primer on top of your BB cream to protect your skin.  Wonder how this plays out in a humid place like Singapore?  Seems a bit of overkill to me.  BB is quite popular here though, as I noticed after perusing Flowerpod.com. sg an online beauty forum, Sasa stores, Watsons and Guardian.  Naturally, I am super curious! My assigment over the next weeks is to try some BB creams suitable for my skin and shall report back.

For those itching to see what is out there, I found this super cool blog reviewing BB creams.

One response

Leave a Reply

